找回密码
 注册

QQ登录

只需一步,快速开始

扫一扫,访问移动社区

搜索

关于塑料污染的严峻事实

发布者: 五毒 | 发布时间: 2024-9-7 23:47| 查看数: 55| 评论数: 0|

I'm a visual artist, and I'm also one of the co-founders of the Plastic Pollution Coalition.

我是一名视觉艺术家,也是塑料污染联盟的联合创始人之一。

I've been working with plastic bags, which I cut up and sew back together as my primary material for my artwork for the last 20 years.

过去20年,我一直参与塑料包的工作,我艺术创作的原材料是裁制和缝合塑料。

I turn them into two and three-dimensional pieces and sculptures and installations.

让塑料变为平面和立体型艺术,雕塑和艺术装置。

Upon working with the plastic, after about the first eight years,

在与塑料打交道的八年之后,

some of my work started to fissure and break down into smaller little bits of plastic.

我的一些作品开始开裂碎成许多小塑料块。

And I thought, "Great.

我想,“好极了。

It's ephemeral just like us."

塑料就像我们人类一样短命。”

Upon educating myself a little further about plastics, I actually realized this was a bad thing.

在进一步了解塑料知识后,我实际上意识到这是一件坏事。

It's a bad thing that plastic breaks down into smaller little bits, because it's always still plastic.

塑料碎成许多小块,但它还是塑料,这很糟糕。

And what we're finding is that a lot of it is in the marine environment.

我们发现其中很多都存在于海洋环境中。

I then, in the last few years, learned about the Pacific garbage patch and the gyre.

然后,在过去的几年,我知道太平洋垃圾环流和垃圾漩涡。

And my initial reaction -- and I think this is a lot of people's first reaction to learning about it -- is, "Oh my God!

我第一反应--我想这也是多数人的第一反应,知道这之后--“喔,我的上帝!

We've got to go out there and clean this thing up."

我们要去那里并清理这些塑料。”

So I actually developed a proposal to go out with a cargo ship and two decommissioned fishing trawlers, a crane,

所以我实际上制定了一个提案,用一艘货船和两艘退役的拖网渔船、一台起重机,

a chipping machine and a cold-molding machine.

一台削片机和一台冷压机出海。

And my intention was to go out to the gyre, raise awareness about this issue and begin to pick up the plastic,

我计划是航行到垃圾环流带,提高对于此污染的高度重视,开始回收塑料,

chip it into little bits and cold mold it into bricks that could potentially be used as building materials in underdeveloped communities.